Day 1

Delighted (dɪˈlaɪtɪd): very pleased (çok memnun), adjective (sıfat)

  • a delighted smile
  • delighted to do something I’d be absolutely delighted to come.
  • ‘Can you stay for dinner?’ ‘I’d be delighted (to)!’
  • delighted that… I was delighted that you could stay.
  • delighted by something She was delighted by the news of the wedding.
  • delighted at something They were highly delighted at the court’s decision.
  • delighted with something I was delighted with my presents.
  • delighted about something We are delighted about the decision.
  • delighted for somebody I was so pleased and delighted for him when he started losing weight.

Grateful (ˈɡreɪtfl): feeling or showing thanks because somebody has done something kind for you or has done as you asked, adjective (sıfat)

  • Thank you for doing this. I really am so grateful.
  • grateful to somebody We are very grateful to all those who contributed.
  • grateful for something She said she was grateful for the support shown by the community.
  • grateful to somebody for something I am extremely grateful to all the teachers for their help.
  • grateful to do something She seems to think I should be grateful to have a job at all.
  • grateful (that…) He was grateful that she didn’t tell his parents about the incident.
  • Grateful thanks are due to the following people for their help…
  • Kate gave him a grateful smile.
  • FORMAL USED: used to make a request, especially in a letter or in a formal situation. For example: I would be grateful if you could send the completed form back as soon as possible.

Excited (ɪkˈsaɪtɪd): feeling or showing happiness and enthusiasm, adjective

  • Staff got excited when they heard they were getting a bonus.
  • excited about something I am really excited about the opportunity to work with her.
  • excited about doing something The children were excited about opening their presents.
  • excited at something I’m really excited at the prospect of working abroad.
  • excited at doing something She was very excited at becoming a great aunt.
  • excited by something Don’t get too excited by the sight of your name in print.
  • excited for somebody I’m so excited for you!
  • excited for something I woke up bright and early, excited for the day ahead.
  • excited to do something He was very excited to be asked to play for Wales.
  • excited (that)… He is very excited that he will get to meet his idol.
  • The new restaurant is nothing to get excited about (= not particularly good).
  • An excited crowd of people gathered around her.

Happy(ˈhæpi):(comparative happier, superlative happiest). feeling or showing pleasure; pleased, adjective

  • a happy family
  • a happy smile/face
  • You don’t look very happy today.
  • He always seemed happy enough.
  • I’ve never felt so happy.
  • Money won’t make you happy.
  • happy to do something We are happy to announce the engagement of our daughter.
  • happy for somebody I’m very happy for you.
  • happy (that)… I’m happy (that) you could come.

Glad(ɡlæd): [not before noun] pleased; happy, adjective

  • ‘I passed the test!’ ‘I’m so glad.’
  • She was glad when the meeting was over.
  • glad about something ‘He doesn’t need the pills any more.’ ‘I’m glad about that.’
  • glad to know, hear, see… I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better.
  • glad (that)… I’m glad (that) you’re feeling better.
  • He was glad he’d come.
  • I’m just glad you’re safe!
  • glad to do something I’ve never been so glad to see anyone in my life!
  • I’m glad to meet you. I’ve heard a lot about you.
  • He talked so much that they were really glad to see the back of him (= when he left).
  • glad for somebody I’m so glad for him because he’s such a nice lad.

Yorum bırakın